Skip to Main Content

Award Nominations


Do you know a civic-minded attorney committed to serving the community? Consider nominating them for one of our awards below.

The next deadline is June 1, 2023.

Ritter Award

The highest honor awarded by the Foundation. This award is given for a lifetime of service. The award recognizes the accomplishments of the honoree in attaining and promoting the highest level of professionalism, integrity and ethics in the practice of law while assisting other attorneys, the courts and the public to envision and cause changes which improve the justice system in Ohio.

Start a Nomination

Ramey Award for Distinguished Community Service

Given annually to an Ohio attorney whose career has been exemplified by: dedication of the goals and values sought to be furthered by the Foundation; a lifetime of service to the public and the community; and integrity, honor, courtesy and professionalism. This service must be outside the recipients' practice of law and must be given without compensation.

Start a Nomination

Outstanding Program or Organization Award

Given to a program or organization that promotes the dissemination of information about, increase access to, and/or generates improvements in the Ohio justice system.

Start a Nomination

Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion Award

The OSBF Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award celebrates an attorney who has envisioned and cultivated diversity, equality, and inclusion in the legal system. The work performed by the nominee goes beyond his/her ordinary work responsibilities or internal law firm activities. It also shows how they advocated for inclusion, equity, and diversity, served as a role model, facilitated opportunities for others, and/or took a stand on critical issues related to inclusion, equity, and diversity.

Start a Nomination

Community Service Award for Newer Attorneys

This award is presented to attorneys, under age 40 or for less than 15 years of practice, who contribute substantial time and effort in service to a local social service, or a local civic, artistic or cultural organization. The service must be outside the recipients’ practice of law and must be given without compensation. Emphasis is placed on current service. Recipients should represent the ideals of the legal profession and, by example, be a credit to the profession. The statewide award recipient is chosen from these district honorees.

Start a Nomination